George Mason University
Graduate School of Education - George Mason University

Our Graduate School of Education is the alma mater for one third of teachers and administrators in Northern Virginia’s world-class school systems. Each year, more than 3,000 graduate students enroll in our innovative academic programs, which include advanced study for teachers and school leaders, instructional design and technology, and a renowned PhD in Education program that is among the largest in the country.


School of Recreation, Health, and Tourism - George Mason University

The School of Recreation, Health, and Tourism (SRHT) offers exciting, career-ready majors in dynamic fields such as athletic training, tourism and events management, health and physical education, kinesiology, sport management, and recreation management. SRHT features renowned faculty, cutting-edge research, six laboratories and centers, and a diverse student body of more than 1,000 undergraduate and graduate students each year. Each major requires one or more internship or clinical experiences, ensuring that students graduate not just with a transcript but with a resume that demonstrates their professional aptitude and skills.

Dean Ginsberg to Host Inaugural Bammy Awards

June 14, 2012

Dean Mark Ginsberg will be co-host of the 2012 Bammy Awards, announced the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences.

The Academy of Education Arts and Sciences announced the hosts and presenters for the inaugural, interdisciplinary Bammy Awards recognizing excellence in education in 24 categories across the field.

Presenters announced today include:

  • Dan Domenech, executive director of the American Association of School Administrators;
  • Greg Toppo, national education reporter for USA Today;
  • JoAnn Bartoletti, executive director of the National Association of Secondary School Principals;
  • Betsy Landers, president of the National PTA;
  • Yasmina Vinci, executive director for the National Head Start Association;
  • Andrew Rotherham, cofounder of Bellwether Education and columnist for TIME magazine;
  • Gayle C. Manchin, president of the National Association of State Boards of Education;
  • Donna Mazyck, executive director of the National Association of School Nurses;
  • Dennis Randolph, executive director of the National School Plant Management Association; and
  • Caroline Hendrie, executive director of the Education Writers Association.

The 2012 Bammy Awards will be co-hosted by Dr. Mark Ginsberg, dean of the College of Education and Human Development at George Mason University and former executive director of the National Association for the Education of Young Children, and Nelson Davis, four-time Emmy-winning broadcaster and board member of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation.

The Bammy Awards were created in response to the tremendous national pressure on educators and education leaders to improve student outcomes and the intense scrutiny that today's educators face as a result. The Bammy Awards acknowledge that teachers can't educate children alone and don't do it alone. The awards aim to foster cross-discipline recognition for the vital role played by every member of the education village, encourage collaboration and respect across the various domains, elevate education and education successes in the public eye, and raise the profile and voices of the many undervalued and unrecognized people who are making a difference in the field every day.

The Bammy Awards are presented by the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences, made up of 164 of the nation's most prominent and influential education leaders. The inaugural black-tie event will take place on September 15, 2012, at the landmark Arena Stage at the Mead Center in Washington, D.C. Awards will be presented in 24 categories. In addition, Linda Darling-Hammond, John Merrow and Diane Ravitch will receive special honors for their distinguished lifetime achievements.

For a complete list of nominations and more information, please visit

For additional information:

To receive a roundup of CEHD news via e-mail, please subscribe to our news feed.

Follow CEHD on Facebook at or Twitter at @MasonCEHD.